Five to run for NYM School Board

By Chad Koenen


Voters will not have a shortage of options for local school board and city council elections. The deadline to file and have a name placed on the ballot for the November election was on Tuesday.

In the City of New York Mills, incumbent Marsha Maki was the only person to file as mayor. The position will be for two years. Richard Grotheer and Eric Hammond have filed for election for two positions on the city council for two years each. Incumbents Josh Hoaby and Logyn Saewert did not file for re-election.

The City of Bluffton ballot will be filled in November as four seats on the city council and a mayor seat are all up for election.

Tim Pavek has filed for re-election as mayor of Bluffton for another two-year term. Meanwhile, Timothy Kassa and Anthony Kassa have filed for election for a pair of four year terms, while Marylou Carlson and Brian Nesland have filed for election for a pair of two-year seats on the city council.

In the City of Ottertail, Ron Grobeck will seek a second term as mayor. He was the only person to file for election for the two-year position.

For the city council, incumbent Jill Carlson will be joined on the ballot by challengers Elizabeth Augustus and Judah Burlingame. There are two open spots on the city council, each being for four years. Incumbent Jessica Grimes did not file for re-election.

Two people have filed for the position of mayor in the City of Deer Creek. Incumbent mayor Troy Beiswinger will seek a second term at the helm of Deer Creek and is being challenged on the ballot by former mayor Tom Svarvari. Incumbent city council members Robert Lund and Jayme George also filed for re-election for the city council.

There will be three seats up for election on the NY Mills School Board in November. Filing for election was incumbent Amy Wallgren, who will be challenged by Derek Geiser, AmyAnn Mursu, Christina Peeters-Kickhafer and Brian Schermerhorn. Incumbents Denise Kane and Jill Carlson did not file for re-election.