Marsha Maki re-elected as NYM Mayor

By Chad Koenen


Three new faces will join the New York Mills School Board in January. 

During Tuesday’s general election, Derek Geiser received 1,089 votes, while AmyAnn Mursu received 880 votes and Brian Schermerhorn received 851 votes to all be elected to the school board. 

Incumbent Amy Wallgren came in fourth place with 747 votes, while Christina Peeters-Kickhafer received 471 votes. There were three seats up for election on the school board.

Like many municipal races across northeast Otter Tail County, the City of NY Mills featured candidates running unopposed for their positions. 

Incumbent mayor Marsha Maki was re-elected to the position after receiving 358 of the 369 votes cast for the position. Richard Grotheer and Eric Hammond was elected to the city council after receiving 270 and 281 votes respectively. 

In the City of Bluffton, incumbent mayor Timothy Pavek was re-elected to the position after receiving 83 of the 86 votes cast for the position. Anthony Kassa received 84 of the 85 votes for a special two-year seat on the city council after the seat was vacated, while Mary Lou Carlson with 76 votes and Brian Nesland with 69 votes were elected to the city council for a four-year term each. 

  In the City of Ottertail, Ron Grobeck was re-elected as mayor with 305 votes, while Jill Carlson with 231 votes and Elizabeth Augustus with 201 votes were elected to the Ottertail City Council. Judah Burlingame received 124 votes. 

  In Deer Creek, incumbent mayor Troy Beiswenger was re-elected as mayor with 81 votes, while Tom Svarvari received 19 votes. Jayme George received 78 votes and Robert Lund received 59 votes to be re-elected to the city council. 

The Otter Tail County Board of Commissioners will receive a new face next year as Robert Lahman unseated incumbent Betty Murphy in the newly created District 4. Lahman received 2,574 votes compared to 2,419 votes for Murphy. Lahman resides in Parkers Prairie and District 4 covers much of the southeast part of Otter Tail County.

In District 2 incumbent Wayne Johnson narrowly defeated challenger Jeffery Gontarek by a 2,612 to 2,546, while incumbent Kurt Mortenson defeated challenger Bradley Sunde by a 4,088 to 1,707 margin. 

Dan Bucholz, in District 1 and Lee Rogness in District 5, ran unopposed for election to the county board. 

Barry Fitzgibbons was overwhelmingly re-elected to a second term as Otter Tail County Sheriff as he received 18,792 votes, compared to 7,427 for challenger Joey Geiszler. 

In the newly created State District 9, Republican Tom Murphy was elected to the state house in State District 9B after receiving 15,322 votes, compared to 6,431 for DFL endorsed Jason Satter.

Republican Jordan Rasmusson was elected to the state senate in District 9 after receiving 25,372 votes, compared to 11,560 for DFL endorsed Cornel Walker. There were 3,507 write-in votes for the position.